Laurel Highlands
Share |

Laurel Highlands Nurse Practitioner Association

Regional Officers

Laurel  Highland County Dues:  $100.00 for Regular members; $50.00 for Student/Retired members


Lorrie Borrell


Kim Garman

Vice President
Robin Munoz

Michelle Shaffer

Antoinette Furman-Steinbring

PCNP Board Rep
Diana Smelter

PCNP Alternate Board Rep
Lydia Manzini

Conference Chair

Kelli Manippo


Marjorie Farabaugh Nurse Practitioner Student Scholarship 

Applications are being accepted for the 7th annual Marjorie Farabaugh Nurse Practitioner Student Scholarship. This year we are awarding a $1,000 and a $500 scholarship!
In 2006 the Laurel Highlands Nurse Practitioner Association along with family, friends and colleagues established this fund through the Conemaugh Health Foundation (now the 1889 Foundation) in memory of Marge, one of the area’s first nurse practitioners. She is fondly remembered by the medical community as well as her patients. She was a nurse practitioner of great compassion and a woman of courage. Before her untimely death she had built a thriving rural practice, and – having beaten cancer once – she volunteered to take the first trial of a breast cancer vaccine. During her career Marge worked at both Memorial and Lee Medical Centers and she lectured at Penn State University and Mount Aloysius College. 
The local Nurse Practitioner group continues to honor Marge’s memory by keeping this scholarship going in her name. Those wishing to apply for the scholarship should be a student in an accredited Nurse Practitioner program, with a GPA of at least 3.2 and be a resident of Bedford, Cambria, Indiana or Somerset County. This scholarship is not only focused on acknowledging an outstanding nurse practitioner student, but also on encouraging our young talent to use their skills locally. The scholarship recipient should show a strong interest in seeking employment as a nurse practitioner in the Laurel Highlands region.
Here are the guidelines and application. For further questions, please contact Lorrie Borrell, President of the Laurel Highlands Nurse Practitioner Association at or call 814-244-2736 – the deadline for submission is October 15, 2016. 
Those interested in contributing to the Marjorie Farabaugh Nurse Practitioner Student Scholarship Fund should contact the 1889 Foundation at 814-532-0100 or on-line at 

Click Here to View All Meetings



© Pennsylvania Coalition of
Nurse Practitioners
2400 Ardmore Blvd
Suite 302 : Pittsburgh, PA 15221
P: (412) 243-6149
F: (412) 243-5160