PCNP Awards

PCNP is proud to give out two awards at our Annual Education Conference: The Sheila Gealey Award and *NEW THIS YEAR* the Dr. Mona Counts Award. Read the descriptions of the awards below and submit a worthy Nurse Practitioner to be honored at our Annual Conference. You can nominate someone at the bottom of the page for either award. Award nominations close Oct. 2. 


*NEW THIS YEAR* Dr. Mona Counts Award


Dr. Mona Counts was a nurse practitioner pioneer, leader, educator and entrepreneur. She was a member of the Pennsylvania Coalition of Nurse Practitioners; AANP state representative, AANP regional director, treasurer and president of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (now the American Association of Nurse Practitioners AANP).Dr. Counts started one of the first nurse practitioner (NP)-run rural practices in the country, to serve the general health care needs of the 5,000 Appalachian residents in southwestern Pennsylvania and West Virginia. In July 2004, Reader's Digest profiled Counts as an “Everyday Hero”, which features “ordinary citizens who perform extraordinary acts at great personal risk or sacrifice.” Mona will always be remembered for her achievements, fiery personality, and love of the nurse practitioner profession. 

The 2020 PCNP Board of Directors voted to establish the Dr. Mona Counts award given to a nurse practitioner.

Selection Criteria

The recipient of the Dr. Mona Counts award will demonstrate a passion for caring for an underserved population, clinical education and nurse practitioner leadership. The individual nominated will be an NP who has made outstanding contributions to the role of a nurse practitioner in:

  • Clinical practice with underserved population.
  • Demonstrating dedication to the education and training of new nurse practitioners.
  • Providing mentorship and developed leadership in policy, practice and/or education.
  • Love of the profession.
  • Identifying and removing barriers to effective NP practice.
  • Increasing public awareness of the NP role locally.


To be considered for The Mona Counts Award nominees must meet the following requirements:

  • Nurse Practitioner in the State of Pennsylvania.
  • Nurse practitioner who embodies excellence as a role model, is a source of hope and encouragement to other NPs, and/or has made exceptional contributions to the health care community as stated in the selection criteria.

Sheila Gealey Award


The Sheila Gealey Award was established in 2012 to honor Sheila Gealey, a long-time leader of the Pennsylvania Coalition of Nurse Practitioners and its’ first president.

The award is presented annually to a nurse practitioner who has been proactive in protecting and enhancing the role of the nurse practitioner in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. 

Selection Criteria

The recipient of the Sheila Gealey award should have leadership qualities/activities such as follows:

  • Participates in the PCNP Annual Conference as a speaker or attendee.
  • Demonstrates leadership as an officer or committee chair in regional, state, or national nurse practitioner association.
  • Demonstrates knowledge of current federal and state nurse practitioner legislation and issues affecting practice.
  • Engages in advocacy activities with elected officials, business leaders, or other interested stakeholders on issues related to  nurse practitioners.
  • Serves as a preceptor or mentor to student nurse practitioners.
  • Demonstrates community involvement by serving on the board of a health-related agency, speaking on health-related topics,  volunteering at healthcare events, or participation in some other community based activity.


To be considered for the Sheila Gealey Award nominees must meet the following requirements:
  • Nominees must be an active member of PCNP.

If you have any questions, please email pcnp@pacnp.org.


© Pennsylvania Coalition of
Nurse Practitioners
2400 Ardmore Blvd
Suite 302 : Pittsburgh, PA 15221
P: (412) 243-6149
F: (412) 243-5160